Meiosis stages - Stages of Meiosis

Each chromo­some remains composed of the two sister chromatids formed prior to prophase I, except for segments that were interchanged during crossing-over.

Eggs and pollens of plants naturally depends on external mechanical factors for the initial fusion of gametes.

This results in variation.

This causes variation in all species.

What is meiosis?

It consists of two successive divisions which are meiosis 1 and meiosis 2.

At the end of interphase, the cell enters the next phase of meiosis: Prophase I.

Anaphase II When spindle fibres retract, sister chromatids separate and move towards opposite poles.

Meiosis I: Definition, Stages, Phases, and Diagram

Stages of Meiosis 1 and 2 (With Pictures)

Description: All students can read from Stages of Meiosis - Definition, 6 Stages and FAQ on Vedantu.

Views: 1275 Date: 07.02.2023 Favorited: 197 favorites
Category: DEFAULT

User Comments 3

Post a comment

Although the resulting cell nu­clei contain only half the diploid number of chromo­somes, the chromosome set is genetically complete, because each nucleus acquires one member of each pair of homologous chromosomes.
In 1890 a German biologist August Weismann described the significance of meiosis for copy and inheritance, he noted that if the number of chromosomes had to be maintained then two cell divisions were compulsory to transform one diploid cell into four haploid cells.
Another important process that takes place is the formation of new cellular organelles.

Hot Categories

Latest Comments

    Phases of Meiosis 1: There are 4 stages of meiosis, prophase is the longest meiosis stage and it comprises five sub-phases under it. 1) Prophase 1 – Prophase 1 is the longest phase of meiosis where three primary aspects are taking place.
    By: bumwine|||||||||
    In each round of division, cells go through four stages: prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. Meiosis I Before entering meiosis I, a cell must first go through interphase. As in mitosis, the cell grows during G phase, copies all of its chromosomes during S phase, and prepares for division during G phase.
    By: Aceastro|||||||||
    Meiosis 2 results in separation the sister chromatids and for this reason, it is known as equatorial division. Each of the two meiotic divisions is divided into interphase, prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. Each stage is followed by 1 or 2 indicating whether it belongs to meiosis 1 or 2.
    By: Definitely_not_Doug|||||||||
    The meiotic spindle fibres attach to one chromosome of each pair. 4. Anaphase I: The pair of chromosomes are then pulled apart by the meiotic spindle, which pulls one chromosome to one pole of the cell and the other chromosome to the opposite pole. In meiosis I the sister chromatids stay together.
    By: BastardoSinGloria|||||||||
    Meiosis consists of two divisions, both of which follow the same stages as mitosis (prophase, metaphase, anaphase, telophase) Meiosis is preceded by interphase, in which DNA is replicated to produce chromosomes consisting of two sister chromatids. A second growth phase called interkinesis may occur between meiosis I and II, however no DNA.
    By: BiggClay||||||||| - 2022
DISCLAIMER: All models on adult site are 18 years or older. has a zero-tolerance policy against ILLEGAL pornography. All galleries and links are provided by 3rd parties. We have no control over the content of these pages. We take no responsibility for the content on any website which we link to, please use your own discretion while surfing the porn links.
Contact us | Privacy Policy | 18 USC 2257 | DMCA